The Senate Approves 4 Persons to Serve As Board of Directors For CB (see Full list)

The Senate on Thursday, approved four nominees out of five from President Bola Tinubu to serve on the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN.

In a report which was submitted to the Chambers by the Committee Chairman on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions, Senator Mikhail Adetokunbo Abiru, representing Lagos East Senatorial District, the nominees were satisfactorily screened.

The lawmaker maintained that their nomination by President Tinubu was in line with Section 6(1)(10)(D) of the CBN Act.

While he sought their confirmation, Abiru told his colleagues that there was no petition against any of the nominees, adding that there were no security reports about them by the Department of State Service, DSS or the Nigeria Police and that they had also fulfilled the Code of Conduct Bureau requirements.

He said: “He also said, the nominees have knowledge of the industry and have the capability to serve on the CBN board ”

Meanwhile, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu representing Abia North Senatorial District disclosed that Urum Kalu Eke who is his constituent excused himself from the nomination for another engagement with the World Bank.

He said: “Mr President and Distinguished Colleagues, Mr Urum is my constituent and he called to say, there will be a conflict of interest in his nomination as CBN board director.

Names full list of Persons:

1. Mr Robert Agbede
2. Mr Ado Yakubu Wanka
3. Professor Muritala Sabo Sagagi
4. Mrs Muslimat Olanike Aliyu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button